Profile

Cover photo
Janis Cowser
Works at http://cowsercorporation.com
Lives in Hawaii
577 views
About
Story
Introduction

check out my Activism Site  and let blog or talk about at http://cowsercorporation.com

CEO

-”You are never given a wish without also being given the power to make it true”

“‘You must begin by knowing you have already arrived”

“In order to be realist you must believe in miracles”

I am writer, I have two Books and trying to learn how to publish, promote, and sell your own books. My name is Janis Cowser  and I grew up in watts, which is a part of South Central Los Angeles.  I came from a family of six children and I also had three stepbrothers, whom lived with their mother name Bee, for a total of nine children. I and my step brothers all had the same last name as our father, which is Cowser. at an early age. I was exposed violence, and learned prejudice from my real father, who died in jail. I witnessed my uncle almost getting his thumb cut off from a strange man, while living in the Nickeson Garden Housing Project. Furthermore,  my oldest brother got hit by a diesel truck and he had to wear a colostomy bag on his side for 1o years. When I was in School, I called the bad twin, and I played that role as a child. Sometime later, after the accident, my mother and step father moved us out of the housing project to east 97 th street, in South Central Los Angeles.   My childhood  life continued to be negative. I continued to get kicked out of school until the eighth grade.  My mother had told me she was going to lock me up and I believed her. Because of  going  to school in the inner city, when I did attend school, the teachers I had did not know how to interact well with the inner city kids, although some  tried their best.  Therefore I never learned how to read well and I never knew how to spell or write a paper correctly. My mother and step father were just trying to keep a roof over our heads. They tried to teach us the right values in life, and right morals in society as well.

learned prejudice from my real father, when I  was spending  the night with him and my stepmother. My father told me that all white people were “peckerwoods, blue-eyed devils.” He told me that they were “out to mess over all Miniorty People, and they would never give a Miniorty person  a fair chance in life.” He went on to tell me that “white people could not be trusted, that they were the enemy.”   I learned that prejudice and discrimination can only be taught and learned though family and friends at an early age. If not caught in time, that is where prejudice  begins and ignorance turns  into racism and discrimination when one becomes an adult.
 
Moving right along, I married my childhood sweetheart, after high school, who was in the army. Therefore, I  was never concerned about learning to read or write.  I was separated from my first husband, and on my way to divorce court with one child.Finally at 24 years old, I could only read at a 3rd grade level, I was once an illiterate person. I decided to attend college. I entered Southwest Jr. College in 1977 and meet a guidance counselor name Flora Hawkins,  who had a master’s degree, who encouraged me to enroll in the learning center, at the Jr. College. Mrs. Hawkins knew that I had a problem with English. Throughout college I continued to fail English. I transferred to Dominguez Hills University and still had problems with my English, and was failing all my English classes. At one time an English professor gave me an “F” in the English class. He told me to drop out of the class, and drop out of college because I was never going to pass an English course. even if hell freeze over.  I almost quit college, because I was so discouraged. Then I  meet a lady name Rhena, who work in the learning centering at Dominguez Hills University. She told  me “keeping trying and you will succeed with English.” You see, I worked  as a waitress, made easy  money  in the night club called the Cover Girl, in Culver City, California. But, that life was not for me. I wanted more out of my life.

 I stayed in school, and I received my Associate In Arts  Liberal Arts from Los Angeles Southwest College, January 26, 1979. Finally I received my Bachelor of Arts in Sociology from California State University, Dominguez Hills on July 30, 1982. Also, I attended Rio Hondo Police Academy and completed a P. C. 832 arrest course (post certified) on June 21, 1985. It took me 6 years to finish College, and I only succeeded because I had help from a few mentors. These were people that encouraged me and helped me to believe in myself.

After received my B.A. Degree, I tried out for the Los Angeles City Fire Department. I  was one of the first female fire fighter candidates in the whole State of California. I was picked from several hundred women. Due to a  bad injury on my shoulder, I failed the physical test after  training a whole year  in that small group of 20  physically strong women. After not making it in, (first female in the Los Angeles City Fire Department), I went to the Los Angeles County Probation Department. I  resigned after nine years and 10 months.  I moved to Hawaii to marry , James , whom I met while vacationing in the islands in 1993. I moved to Hawaii in year of 1994,  Our wedding was on valentines day ’95.  I am an Minortiy American and my  ex husband is a Caucasian with English heritage who is a descendant of King Henry II of England.I realized that there was a cultural difference between us; Therefore, I decided to write this book. I wanted to help others  understand what is involved in  interracial and intercultural marriage and relationships. I did extensive research about the  love side, the problems of, and the motives behind interracial  and intercultural marriages and  relationships.

My first  book is call “LOVING IN COLOR” is  profile about things you want to know about interracial and intercultural marriage and relationships.My book will promton love, peace and show any one who in a intercultural marriage, it’s really  work, if you  do the work it will pay off big time.

P.S.  I spoke with Flora Hawkins, who is now 83 years younger and just move  to live with her Daughter Dr. Hawkins who has her Dotorate ,yes it’s the highest at a university. Yes I hope to see them in 2011, during university School Break.

Note work from my First Book [LOVING IN COLOR] I have a Certificate issued under the Seal of Copright Office in accordance with Title17, United State Code, attests that registration has been made for the work identified as  ,First Book[LOVING IN COLOR]. That  has been made a part of the Copright Office records On July 9, 1997 under my EX-Husband ,married name.

Did you Know that it will cost  a person $150. Dollar,to change your Registration  of your Book last name at the Library of Congress, if you are not married anymore!

My second Book I will be sending for offical seal  certificate of registrationon June 18, 2011 my 40 years Anniversary being out High School. and then I will give you title, Yes,  be ready  for it.

Places
Map of the places this user has livedMap of the places this user has livedMap of the places this user has lived
Currently
Hawaii
Previously
Los Angeles,California - Pepeekeo,Hawaii
Work
Occupation
Activism/Site CowserCorporation.com
Employment
  • http://cowsercorporation.com
    Activism/Site CowserCorporation.com, present
  • CEO
Links